Nelson appointed to board of directors

A longtime community volunteer and member of the CCATD Advisory Committee was unanimously appointed to the Coos County Area Transportation District Board of Directors on Monday.

The board voted unanimously to appoint Schira Nelson to the board, for a term expiring June 30, 2025.

Nelson was one of two people who applied for the open Position #1 seat, with Nelson and Harper Thompson attending the meeting to meet with the directors.

While both candidates were highly qualified, Board Chairman Doug Veysey said he preferred Nelson because she has been serving as a member of the Advisory Committee.

After the vote, Thompson said he was interested in serving on the CCATD Advisory Committee and the Budget Committee, both that have openings.

The Advisory Committee had an immediate vacancy with Nelson’s appointment to the board of directors, Two other positions will become vacant in the near future and anyone who is interested in public transportation in Coos County is encouraged to apply for a seat.

The Budget Committee has six vacancies for community members. The Budget Committee helps the board of directors create the annual budget, with members meeting during the fourth quarter of the fiscal year. Members of the Budget Committee must be registered voters in Coos County.

Anyone interested in serving on the Advisory Committee or the Budget Committee can apply by visiting the CCATD website at and clicking on the About Us tab.